(+92) 0317 1118263

Halal & Haram Foods

Are Lays chips halal?

الاستفتاء

SALAM MUFTI SAHAB
I HAVE SEEN ON TV AND MANY OTHER PLACES ABOUT THE LAYS POTATO CHIPS THAT THEY ARE CLAIMING REGARDING UR REFERENCE UR REFERENCE MEANS REFERENCE OF DARULLOM ABOUT THE HILAT OF LAYS AS I HAVE SEEN CHIPS PACKETS ONLY LAYS SALTED DIDNT GOT THAT CODE WHILE OTHERS DO I HAVE SEEN THE ARGUMENT ABOUT THE PLANT SO I SEARCHED ON INTERNET ABOUT THAT THING ALSO I DIDN'T GET ANY PLACE ABOUT THAT FAT IS EXTRACTED FROM THAT PLANT I HAVE CHECKED SOME VEGETARIAN FORUMS AND I M SENDING U LINKS IT WAS CLEARLY MENTION THAT ANIMAL EXTRACTS E361 AND I M SENDING U RESEARCH OF THE DOCTOR in UK u can check the attached file kindly guide me in this regards as far as i have read about this E361 its medically also hazardous for children u can check the links on ur own MAY ALLAH guide us AMeen SALAM


http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/583155/tapioca
http://www.ivu.org/faq/food.html
http://www.chemistrydaily.com/chemistry/Disodium_inosinate
http://www.fooducate.com/blog/2009/05/07/inside-the-label-ranch-dressing/
http://www.vegansociety.com/food/criteria.php
http://jagore.blog.co.in/2009/06/01/pig-fats-found-in-lays-products/
http://www.nationmaster.com/encyclopedia/Disodium-guanylate

الجواب حامدا و مصلیا

Many contradictory research results have emerged with regard to the ingredients contained in Lays Chips and none of them could be declared as final whereas it is not possible to declare it to be definitely Haram as well. However due to the differences in researches it is preferable to refrain from eating it. However, if it is established through an unbiased research that it is mixed with any kind of Haram ingredient or due to any chemical reaction the essence and the nature of the Haram ingredient is not transformed too, then in such a circumstance it is Haram to consume it and abstinence from it is essential.